49th UP State Bridge Championship at Meerut 2019

49th UP State Bridge Championship & 9th Alexander Athletic Club, Meerut Invitational Bridge Championship for Northern India took place at Alexander Athletic Club, Meerut from July 20-22, 2019. 17 teams including 11 UP teams, 2 from Delhi , 2 from Dehradun & 2 others took part in the Championship. The event was very well organised by Meerut Bridge Association. The whole show was superbly managed by Sri CP Agarwal ably assisted by Sri Pullak Garga & Sri Rakesh Goel. Alexander Club also deserves credit for supporting bridge. This is the 2nd time Meerut is holding UP State Championship with first being in 2015. Sri RP Bhatnagar was CTD and was ably assisted by Col RK Bhatnagar. Sri TC Pant looked after technical work very efficiently.

From 2012 the UP State Championship was made open to neighbouring states inviting one team each with a new trophy being instituted for best non UP team since 2018.

Rajendra Kumar Gargya Trophy for Best UP Team, Nimita Agarwal Trophy (Alexander Club) for overall winner and Sahu Ravi Prakash Trophy for Best non UP Team in Duplicate Event

17 teams took part in the event and played 7 rounds of swiss league of 8 boards after which 6 teams qualified for Super League. Anand, L:ucknow - 93.34 topped the swiss league followed by Agarwal, Prayagraj - 88.96, Rohit Wrappers, Moradabad - 88.17 finished third, Delhi Blues, Delhi & SBA - 82.41 were joint fourth, & Jains, Meerut - 79.45 were last team to qualify. After 5 rounds of super league of 8 boards each the final results are:

1. Agarwal, Prayagraj (Indresh Agarwal, Bal Agarwal, Shankar Chatterjee, Pintoo Bose, Pankaj Mehta) - 73.9 UP State Champion and Overall Champions Winners of Rajendra Kumar Gargya & Nimita Agarwal Trophies
2. Rohit Wrappers, Moradabad (Ajay Vaish, Deepak Kothiwal, Kr Vijayanand Singh, Pradeep Singh) - 51.32
3. Jains, Meerut (ML Jain, Sanjay Jain, HK Girdhar, Jus BP Singh, Ravinder Singh, Dr Vakul Aren) - 48.07
4. Anand, Lucknow (Shantanu Rastogi, RK Aneja, Anand Srivastava, Anup Kumar) - 44.92
5. SBA (Asoke Dey, C Goswami, Dr Sumit De, PP Agarwal) - 41.87 Best Non UP Team and Winner of Sahu Ravi Prakash Trophy
6. Delhi Blues, Delhi (TC Pant, Paresh Gupta, A Mondal, JB Sengupta) - 39.92

This is 25th time teams from Prayagraj (Allahabad) have become State Champions. The other winners are Lucknow 12, Moradabad 4, Varanasi 3, Kanpur 2, Nainital (undivided UP) 1, Singrauli 1, Aligarh 1. Ever since state championship was made open to neighbouring states twice teams from outside UP have come first.

Madhava Prasad Trophy for Duplicate Silver Event

There was a Silver event for non qualifiers of Duplicate event. 11 teams took part in the event. They played swiss league of 5 rounds of 8 boards each. The results are as follows:

1. 1. Siddiqui, Lucknow (RA Siddiqui, Manish Jaiswal, Mukul Goel, Arun Kumar Srivastava) - 72.99
2. Lucknow Aces, Lucknow (AK Sinha, Girish Kumar, BN Rastogi, Amitabh Tayal) - 60.29
3. Constellation, Delhi (Dr Nikita Kamal, Amarjit, Vijay Kumar, PC Gupta) - 59.26

JK Lohia Trophy for Best UP Pair & Surendra Singh Gupta Trophy (Alexander Club) for Overall Pair Winner in IMP Pairs Event

32 pairs took part in the event. The event was played over two sessions on final day of 21 boards each with Scrambelled Mitchell movement. From 2018 the event is played as IMP pair event instead of Matchpoints. The results are as follows:

1. Mukul Goel & Arun Kumar Srivastava (Lucknow) - 92
2. ML Jain & Sanjay Jain (Meerut) - 91
3. CP Agarwal & Pullak Garga (Meerut) - 89
4. Kr Vijayanand Singh & Pradeep Singh (Varanasi) - 68
5. Indresh Agarwal & Pankaj Mehta (Prayagraj/Moradabad) - 65

VK Chaube Trophy for Highest Masterpoint Grosser from UP in 2018

1. AK Sinha (Lucknow)
2. Shantanu Rastogi (Lucknow)
3. TP Khare (Lucknow)

Posted: 25/7/19 1:15 PM