48th UP State Bridge Championship at Varanasi 2018

48th UP State Bridge Championship took place at Benares Club, Varanasi from July 27-29, 2018. 18 teams including 13 UP teams, 3 from Delhi , 1 from Bihar & 1 from Jaipur took part in the Championship. The event was very well organised by Varanasi Bridge Association. The whole show was ably managed by Kr Vijayanand Singh who put in a lot of hard work to make the event a success. Benares Club also deserves credit for supporting bridge. This is the 8th time Varanasi is holding UP State Championship and first after 2002. Sri Sanjay Chakraborty was CTD and was ably assisted by Subroto Bose. Sri TC Pant looked after technical work very efficiently.

From 2012 the UP State Championship was made open to neighbouring states inviting one team each. This year association has started a new trophy for best non UP team also.

Rajendra Kumar Gargya Trophy for Best UP Team and Sahu Ravi Prakash Trophy for Best non UP Team in Duplicate Event

18 teams took part in the event and played 8 rounds of swiss league of 8 boards after which 6 teams qualified for Super League. Lucknow Aces, L:ucknow - 118.01 topped the swiss league followed by LBM, Meerut - 117.27, Bridgemates, Delhi - 108.79 finished third, Rajjan, Allahabad - 94.21 were fourth, Rohit Wrappers, Moradabad - 87.61 were fifth & Bridge Lovers, Lucknow - 87.52 were last team to qualify. After 5 rounds of super league of 8 boards each the final results are:

1. Rohit Wrappers, Moradabad (Ajay Vaish, Deepak Kothiwal, Kr Vijayanand Singh, Pradeep Singh) - 70.43 UP State Champion and Winner of Rajendra Kumar Gargya Trophy
2. Lucknow Aces, Lucknow (Amitabh Tayal, AK Sinha, BN Rastogi, SQ Wajahat) - 57.1
3. LBM, Meerut (CP Agarwal, Pullak Garga, TP Khare, Ajay Garg) - 46.88
4. Bridgemates, Delhi (DK Tiwari, SM Moin, JB Sengupta, Anukool Mondal) - 46.22 Best Non UP Team and Winner of Sahu Ravi Prakash Trophy
5. Bridge Lovers, Lucknow (Mukul Goel, RA Siddiqui, Shantanu Rastogi, Arun Kumar Srivastava) - 44.2
6. Rajjan, Allahabad (Bal Agarwal, Anisul Haq, Shankar Chatterjee, Pintoo Bose, Deepak Chatterjee) - 35.17

Madhava Prasad Trophy for Duplicate Silver Event

There was a Silver event for non qualifiers of Duplicate event. 13 teams took part in the event. They played swiss league of 5 rounds of 8 boards each. The results are as follows:

1. Singrauli Bridge Association (Asoke Dey, C Goswami, SK Bagchi, PP Agarwalla, Dr Sumit De, J Chatterjee) - 64.55
2. Delhi Blues, Delhi (Dr Nikita Kamal, Amarjit, TC Pant, Smt Asha Sharma ) - 64.17
3. Gems of UP (Sanjay Amist, Amar Bose, HS Dua, Vikas Mohan Gupta) - 61.12

JK Lohia Trophy for Best UP Pair in IMP Pairs Event

44 pairs took part in the event. The event was played over two sessions on final day of 22 boards each with Scrambelled Mitchell movement. This year the event was played as IMP pair event. The results are as follows:

1. Bal Agarwal & Anisul Haq (Allahabad) - 70
2. BN Rastogi & Amitabh Tayal (Lucknow) - 65
3. AK Sinha & SQ Wajahat (Lucknow) - 60
4. Subroto Bose & N Mukherjee (Varanasi)- 59
5. Vipin Rai & Satish Jatana (Lucknow/ Gurugram) - 57
5. RS Misra & Shahid Askari (Allahabad) - 57
5. DK Tiwari & SM Moin (Delhi/Patna) - 57

VK Chaube Trophy for Highest Masterpoint Grosser from UP in 2017

1. AK Sinha
2/3. Ajay Vaish
2/3. Deepak Kothiwal

Posted: 1/8/18 1:35 PM