43rd UP State Bridge Championship at Lucknow 2013

43rd UP State Bridge Championship took place at VKS Varadan Auditorium, Geological Survey of India from August 2-4, 2012. The event was organised in association with Geological Survey Receation Club which along with venue provided basic infrastructure for bridge.. There is no better AC venue than this auditorium. Lucknow Bridge Association would like to thank Sri SP Bhartiya, DDG, GSI for providing the venue. Credit also goes to Sri RK Singh & Sri Madhu Srivastava who have retired from GSI for helping out in organisational work. Both were awarded organisational colours of UP Bridge. The entire Lucknow Bridge Association team led by Sri NN Rastogi - President which included Sri BN Rastogi, Sri RA Siddiqui, Sri TP Khare, Sri Vipin Rai & Sri BD Sarkar to name a few deserve accolades for organising the event. Kr Vijayanand Singh , President, Bridge Association (U.P.) also deserves the credit for helping out in organisational work. Sri Ranju Bhattacharya was CTD who was ably assisted by Sri Kamal Agarwal. Cash prizes of Rs 50000 were given.

From 2012 year the UP State championship was made open to neighbouring states inviting 1-2 teams. However, due to proximity with HCL tournament no out of state team came..

The event was inaugurated by Lt Gen BK Chopra, AVSM who himself is an avid bridge player. The prize distribution was done by Sri SP Bhartiyaa.

Duplicate Event for Kr Krishnanand Prasad Singh Memorial Trophy

17 teams took part in the event. Due to last minute dropouts the numbers were 2-3 less from expectations. They played 7 rounds of swiss league of 10 boards each to detrmine 6 qualifiers for swiss league. The super league was of 5 rounds of 8 boards each. KDI, Moradabad (Pankaj Mehta, Pradeep Singh, Kr Vijayanand Singh, IK Agarwal, BN Rastogi, AK Sinha) topped the swiss league and were awarded Madhava Prasad Memorial Trophy for swiss league winners.Mukul, Lucknow (Mukul Gupta, SA Abbasi, Deepak Kothiwal, Ajay Vaish, BN Batra, RK Aneja), Rajjan, Allahabad (Shankar Chatterjee, Pintoo Bose, Dipak Chatterjee, SP Srivastava, BK Agarwal), BK Singh, Varanasi (BK Singh, RM Gupta, BB Lal, N Mukherjee, RC Gupta, Rakesh Mohan), Virendra 5, Aligarh (Virendra Singh, Anil Bansal, Pravin Agarwal, SK Garg, Dr DC Gupta), RS Misra, Allahabad (RS Misra, SD Pandey, SP Sharma, AP Singh) were other qualifiers. After Super league KDI, Moradabad emerged winners of Kr Krishnanand Prasad Singh Memorial trophy with 88 VPs. In fact it was Virendra 5 who led through out the super league but a bad last round to them along with maximum to KDI team resulted in KDI winning the trophy. Virendra 5 was runners up with 84 VPs. Mukul, Rajjan, RS Misra & BK Singh finished in that order. All the 6 teams were given prizes.

Matchpoint Pairs for Dr JS Kothiwal Memorial Trophy

42 pairs took part in the event. The event was played over four sessions with no final. The first two sesions were of 18 boards and were played on day 2. The super league teams joined on session 3 & 4 on day 3 with 12th position scores. Session 3 & 4 were of 20 boards each.

The results are as follows:

1. BN Rastogi & AK Sinha (Lucknow) - 367.92
2. KP Gupta & RP Gupta (Varanasi) - 364.23
3. JS Kaul & Amar Bose (Lucknow/Varanasi) - 359
4. Kr Vijayanand Singh & IK Agarwal (Varanasi/ Allahabad) - 349.82
5. Ashok Dey & Chinmoy Goswami (Singrauli) - 346.92

The winners also get a chance to represent UP in Rama Jain pairs event in Delhi.

Top 4 teams from duplicate & top 5 pairs get chance to represent UP at Inter State Championship taking place at Varanasi from August 22-25, 2013.

Bridge Association (UP) has been felicitating UP players who have grossed highest masterpoints in a calender year with the criterion that the players should be interested in playing for UP and have UP registration number and should normally be residing in the state. VK Chaube , who was an eminent bridge administrator of Lucknow and a retired GM of Railways who passed away recently, family has come forward and has decided to donate a trophy in his memory to be given to the highest masterpoint winner in a calendar year from UP. The trophy for 2012 went jointly to Pradeep Singh & Kr Vijayanand Singh of Varanasi. Both got prize of Rs 4000/- each. The third highest grosser AK Sinha of Lucknow got Rs 2000. This felicitation also took place during prize distribution and winners got the trophy from Smt Chaube.