38th UP State Championship at Bareilly 2008

38th UP state championship took place at Allen Union Club, Bareilly from August 8-10,2008. 15 teams from took part in the duplicate event.The teams played full league of 15 rounds of 8 boards each. 2 top teams from the league then played in the finals to determine the winners.Rajjan, Allahabad (Rajjan Agarwal, BK Agarwal,SP Srivastava,Deepak Chatterjee,Shanker Chatterjee,RK Shukla) topped the league with 295 VPs.Maheshwari,Allahabad (Indresh Agarwal, Govind Agarwal, BN Rastogi, AK Gupta, AK Sinha, Deepak Kothiwal) finished second with 260 VPs.Siddiqui, Lucknow (RA Siddiqui, B Prasad,NC Bhattacharya, TP Khare) was unlucky to miss out on final berth as they also ended up with 260 VPs but as Maheshwari had defeated them in the league it progressed to final. Ajay Agarwal, Bareilly (Ajay Agarwal, BS Agarwal, Kr Vijayanand Singh, JS Kaul, Pradeep Singh, Pankaj Mehta) finished fourth with 256 VPs. Maheshwari defeated Rajjan in the final and won and retained the DN Rastogi trophy.CK Bhargava & RK Shukla from Allahabad won JS Kothiwal trophy for winning pairs event in which 28 pairs took part. B Prasad & RA Siddiqui (Lucknow) finished runners up. Other prize winners in pairs event were RS Misra & OP Tiwari (Allahabad), VK Agarwal & BK Agarwal (Allahabad).Ajay Agarwal, Bareilly (Ajay Agarwal,Kr Vijayanand Singh, JS Kaul, Pradeep Singh,) won board a match event and with it the Late Gajendra Nath Rastogi memorial trophy where 13 teams were competing. Pensions, Allahabad (AP Singh,HS Gaur, CB Yadav,AK Bannerjee) were runners up. Participation this year was thin again with no teams from Varanasi & Kanpur taking part.Host Bareilly Bridge Association put up a good show for which Mr BS Agarwal, Mr Ajay Agarwal & Mr AK Garg need special mention.