36th UP state championship took place at Oudh Gymkhana club, Lucknow from September 1-3,2006. 22 teams from UP & Uttaranchal took part in the duplicate event. These teams played in the swiss league of 8 rounds of 8 boards each. 4 top teams from the league then played in the semi-finals on a knock out basis. Rajjan,Allahabad (Rajjan Agarwal,Pinto Bose,SP Srivastava,RK Shukla, Deepak Chatterjee) topped the swiss league with 151 VPs. Maheshwari,Allahabad (Indresh Agarwal, Govind Agarwal, BN Rastogi, C D Cruze, AK Gupta)with 150 VPs, Mukul Gupta, Lucknow (Mukul Gupta, Kalika Prasad, Arun Srivastava, Manish Jaiswal, RP Narain, RK Aneja) with 136 VPs, Pankaj Mehta,Moradabad (Pankaj Mehta, Pradeep Singh, Ajay Agarwal, Deepak Kothiwal, Mahendra Singh) with 132 VPs were the other qualified teams. In the semi-finals Rajjan defeated Pankaj Mehta and Maheshwari defeated Mukul Gupta. Rajjan won the final against Maheshwari and with it the DN Rastogi trophy.Kunwar Vijayanand singh & Pradeep Singh from Varanasi won Amitabh Chandra trophy for winning pairs event in which 61 pairs took part. Kalika Prasad & Deepak Kothiwal (Lucknow/Moradabad) finished runners up. Other prize winners in pairs event were Justice BP Singh & CP Agarwal (Meerut), Mahendra Singh & Ajay Agarwal and VK Agarwal & BK Agarwal (Allahabad). Boat House Club (Kr Vijayanand Singh, Deepak Kothiwal, Justice BP Singh, CP Agarwal) won board a match event and with it the Kr Yogendra Pratap memorial trophy where 22 teams were competing. Indresh Agarwal, Allahabad (Indresh Agarwal, Govind Agarwal, BN Rastogi, AK Sinha) were runners up. Siddiqui, Lucknow (RA Siddiqui, NC Bhattacharya, B Prasad, M Wasi) finished third.